

DEPARTMENT OF CO-OPERATIVE GOVERNANCE, HUMAN SETTLEMENTS & TRADITIONAL AFFAIRS

For immediate Release

Monday, 11 July 2022 Attention: All Media Houses

Limpopo House of Traditional Leaders Elects Hosi Pheni Ngove as its New Chairperson

The Limpopo Provincial House of Traditional Leaders has elected Hosi Pheni Ngove as its new Chairperson in a sitting to reconstitute the 6th House of Traditional Leaders presided over by COGHSTA MEC, Mr Basikopo Makamu on behalf of Limpopo Premier, Chupu Stanley Mathabatha.

Thirty-six (36) representatives of Local Houses of Traditional Leaders as elected by Senior Traditional Leaders in the five districts in the beginning of July 2022, gathered at the Thulamela Local Municipality Chambers on 11 July 2022 where they elected their Executive Committee.

The Limpopo House of Traditional Leaders is a statutory body charged with the responsibility of advising government and the legislature on the matters related to custom, tradition, and culture, including developmental initiatives that have an impact on rural communities.

In a secret ballot election coordinated by the Independent Electoral Commission, the House has elected Hosi Pheni Ngove as chairperson and Kgoshi Boleu Rammupudu as the new Deputy Chairperson. Kgoshikgadi ML Masemola, Kgoshi KO Lebogo and Hosi SE Chauke have also been elected as members of the Executive Committee. Additionally, Kgoshi Dikgale, Inkosi Mahlangu, Hosi Ntsanwisi, Vho-Thovhele Rambuda, have been elected to the represent the provincial house in the National House of Traditional and Khoi San leaders.

Premier Mathabatha has reasserted the standing of the house as a cornerstone of democracy, one that connects government to the people on the ground.

"I want to congratulate the newly elected leadership and assure them that together we shall grow Limpopo into a giant that it is becoming. We have previously worked excellently with your predecessors; it is in that tradition that we shall continue to make the most of all our individual responsibilities. The House affirms our dignity as government rooted in traditional practice, pride, and governance," said Premier Mathabatha.

MEC Makamu expressed his gratitude towards the former Chairperson of the House, Kgoshi Malesela Dikgale and his outgone executive. "We had challenges that we faced as government and the house; however, your leadership was always open, honest, and willing to deliberate with us. We encourage the new executive to continue where you left off for the benefit of our people," said MEC Makamu.

The newly elected members of the 6th Provincial House of Traditional Leaders have been mandated to serve for a term of five years.

End.

Issued by COGSTA MEC's Office

Media Enquiries: Hitekani Magwedze (MEC Spokesperson): 072 393 6116